Church Housing Group Now Official
from the Hartford Times, April 19, 1967

MANCHESTER -- MISAC Corp. was officially formed today to provide non-profit housing for moderate-income families and families displaced from urban renewal areas.

The corporation is sponsored by seven Manchester churches and is the outcome of a series of discussions initiated last year by the Manchester Interfaith Social Action Council (MISAC).

Papers of incorporation were filed with the Secretary of State, Arthur H. Klau, Executive Secretary of the Corporation said.

The new organization has several sites under "active" consideration for its buildings, including a tract of land within the North Manchester redevelopment area.

Apartments, according to Klau, will probably be garden type with a majority having two bedrooms and renting for $115 a month.

Each of the seven church sponsors named three directors to the corporation. A representative from each signed the papers filed with the secretary of state.

The churches are Center Congregational, Second Congregational, St. Mary's Episcopal, North Methodist, South Methodist, St. James and Temple Beth Sholom.

Signing the papers were the Reverends Clifford O. Simpson, Felix M. Davis, George F. Nostrand, Earle R. Custer and J. Manley Shaw, the Right Rev. Monsignor Edward J. Reardon and Rabbi Leon Wind.

Directors named are: Center Congregational -- Robert Franklin, Mrs. Walter Joyner, A. Hyatt Sutliff; North Methodist -- Griswold Chappell, Mrs. Quentin Mangun, Mrs. David Thomas.

St. Mary's Episcopal -- Russell Broderick, Warren Tennant, Allan Thomas; St. James -- John Cratty, John O'Connor, John Shields.

Second Congregational -- Clifford Hansen, John Hyde, Samuel Pierson; South Methodist -- Martin Keiderling, William Rood, John Yavis; Temple Beth Sholom -- Irving Bayer, Jack Goldberg, Alfred Werbner.